Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS)

£20 + VAT

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) is an extremely important area of interest to ensure that a person’s human rights are preserved. This course covers the basics of DoLS and the legislation behind it, so that you can successfully make decisions that promote an individual’s choice.

All about this course

This online course is perfect for anyone that is looking to gain a strong knowledge of Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards and how they relate to the Mental Capacity Act. Throughout the course a full understanding of what a deprivation of liberty is will be obtained. Students will also cover when a deprivation can be put in place and the assessments required for this.

Anyone working with elderly people of those with a mental disability is suitable for this course. Upon completion, students receive their Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards certificate which recognises your achievement.

In order to complete the course, you must achieve 80% or more in the final multiple choice quiz.

You will earn 3 CPD points on completion of the course, this course will take around 3 hours to complete and the certificate will last for two years.

Fully CPD registered
Completed online with instant downloadable certificate
Fully printed certificate posted next day
Covers all required legislation and practices
Complete the online multiple choice assessment as many times as you need to pass

Units covered

Unit 1 – Defining Deprivation of Liberty – For the first unit of this course we will look at the definition of Deprivation of Liberty and try to understand more about capacity. The Mental Capacity Act will be fully explained here as well as a number of other acts and pieces of legislation. We will look at capacity in detail and understand how this relates to DoLS.
Unit 2 – Identifying deprivation – In this unit we will look at deprivation and try to identify situations where people are restricted in what they do. The role of AMHP will be explained as well as a number of case studies that will help your ability to identify deprivation. The unit also covers forms of abuse and the Human Rights Act.
Unit 3 – DoLs and the five key principles of the MCA – This unit will look at the 5 principles of the Mental Capacity Act and how these relate to DoLS. We will cover the 5 principles in detail as well as things to consider for each. This will help you to ensure the way you work with individuals is within the boundaries of the MCA.
Unit 4 – Authorising deprivation – Next we will look at how deprivation is authorised and when it is necessary to deprive someone of the freedom to carry out certain tasks. This unit will focus on the assessment process and help you to better understand when it is necessary to deprive someone of liberty. We will also look at best interests and carer liability during this process.
Unit 5 – Record keeping – Record keeping for Deprivation of Liberty Safeguarding is extremely important and something that is covered in this final unit of the course. Communication, accountability and risk assessments will be covered in detail here and the different records that must be kept when depriving someone of liberty.

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS)